Let’s Talk About Food Allergies
The safety of our products is our top priority. After all, even the most delicious chunks and swirls aren’t very euphoric if they make you feel unwell. For Ben & Jerry’s fans in the United States who are affected by allergies and intolerances, being able to access allergen information quickly and easily is extremely important. So let’s dig in!
To help you easily find allergens that may be in Ben & Jerry’s products, we list allergens at the end of our ingredient lists in CAPITAL and bold letters.
For your safety, it’s important to ALWAYS read the label on the package or pint before consuming a product, even if it’s one you have enjoyed safely in the past.
Please be aware that how and where we make our products can change from time to time, which means the same product can sometimes be made in different factories, which may result in a different allergen label.
We also recommend seeking advice from your doctor about any allergies or intolerances to ingredients.
Allergen labelling of our food products
We provide clear allergen and ingredient labelling on all our food products. As required by the United States Food & Drug Administration (FDA), the top 9 allergens are listed in the allergen declaration statement directly after the list of ingredients on all of our products.
To make it easy to spot them at a glance, look for ingredients in CAPITAL and bold letters that highlight all 9 major allergenic ingredients that must be declared as allergens in the United States. These 9 allergens are:
- Tree nuts
Always read the label
From time to time we may update our recipes or change where or how we manufacture our products. This will result in us having to change the ingredients label. Please be aware that sometimes the same product can have different labels depending on when the retailer received the product from us.
This is why it is important to read the label every time before consuming that product, even if you have checked it before, as this will always provide you with the most up-to-date information for that particular item.
We’re excited to offer a delicious line-up of certified gluten-free Ben & Jerry’s products for our fans with celiac disease or other gluten sensitivities. Gluten-free foods have been specially prepared and produced to either reduce the gluten content to no more than 10 parts per million or have had the gluten-containing ingredients substituted with other ingredients which are naturally free of gluten. If a product is gluten-free, this will be clearly indicated on the pack or the product label. Look for the GF symbol!
Wondering which Ben & Jerry’s products are certified gluten-free? Check out our full list of gluten-free flavors here. We’ve updated our testing protocols to ensure that we meet the Gluten-Free Certification Organization’s (GFCO) standards for gluten-free foods. If a product is gluten-free, this will be clearly indicated on the product label. So whether you’re looking for celiac-safe desserts for your celiac diet or are following a low gluten or gluten-free diet, Ben & Jerry’s gluten-free ice cream and Non-Dairy flavors are on the menu.
For more information visit: Gluten Free Certification Organization
Our Non-Dairy pints have all the Ben & Jerry’s chunks and swirls you love, without the dairy! People with dairy or milk allergies or intolerances should look for our certified vegan Non-Dairy flavors made with either almond milk or sunflower butter. Also look for the word Non-Dairy on the container or look for the green lid (made with almond milk) or yellow lid (made with sunflower butter).
Vegan friends, we’ve got you covered! We partnered with Vegan Action to certify that our Non-Dairy flavors don’t include animal products of any kind, including eggs, dairy, or honey. Our vegan products carry the ‘V-Label’ which is registered both internationally and in the United States.
For more information visit: Vegan Action